My favourite house in Guelph

As the new school year is underway, I am happy to see that one of Guelph’s shuttered schools has been reborn.  The former College Avenue Public School at 195 College Avenue West was closed by the Upper Grand District School Board in 2005.  The site was then purchased by the Guelph Community Christian School and reopened in September.  The extensive retrofitting of the school was described in a recent Guelph Tribune article.

The original school was designed by noted Guelph architect Richard Pagani.  In the renovation process, the distinctive butterfly entrance has been echoed over the new entryway to the side of the structure.  What a difference I see in this building.  It is so vibrant and welcoming now.

The Streamline Moderne House.

I was surprised to learn that there is a connection between the College Avenue school and one of my favourite houses in Guelph.  Upon moving to Guelph in 1991, I was thrilled to discover what I call the Streamline Moderne house, a white stucco structure on Metcalfe Street, which reminded me of an architectural style I found prevalent in some sections of San Francisco.  This house was built by Richard Pagani’s father, Dario, a building contractor originally from Milan, Italy.  His family lived in this home for awhile before moving further up Metcalfe, as listed in Vernon’s City of Guelph directories from the 30s and 40s.  (The street numbers have changed over the years as more houses were built in the neighbourhood).

Detail of the Streamline Moderne.

Richard Pagani designed quite a few innovative buildings in Guelph before leaving the city to live and work elsewhere.  One of the homes he built, at 13 Evergreen Drive, is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.  However, his father’s style is much more to my liking, as the 1930s have always been my favourite era.

About gplkaren

I am a Librarian at the Guelph Public Library where you may often find me working on the Information Desk. I also coordinate our Visiting Library Service, a home delivery program for housebound library members. I have lived in Guelph for over 20 years, having moved here from California in 1991. Wherever I haved lived, I've had a passion for the local history of my community. I am especially drawn to Landscape History, and I love detecting the traces of the past still evident in the contemporary environment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My favourite house in Guelph

  1. Karen F. says:

    I have always admired that house on Metcalfe. Thanks for the history!

  2. gpcox says:

    A unique home with a distinguished pedigree.

  3. Pingback: Guelph Turfgrass Institute – Karl Briestensky | Historically Guelph

  4. I grew up in Guelph and was always intrigued by that house; my great-grandmother used to live nearby on Parkholm Ave. and when visiting her I was always struck by the home’s unusual architectural style. Some years ago, my grandmother was showing me some old photographs from the early 1940s, one of which was her as a girl with the children who lived there; if memory serves, the Rosen family lived in that house at the time.

    Great blog, and glad I found it!

  5. Cathy Pagani says:

    I’m so happy the read your post. Dario Pagani was my grandfather and Richard was my father. I lived in the house on 13 Evergreen Drive until I was 7 years old. The interior details (as I remember them) were fantastic. Dad paid attention to everything. I was never able to view the interior of the white stucco house, but spent a lot of time in the house my grandfather had built later at 66 Metcalfe Street (very close to the stucco house). It, too, was quite amazing inside.

Leave a comment