Hugh Guthrie fonds

Wellington Conservatives at a meeting

Wellington Conservatives at a meeting

The nice thing about working in archives or local history is you’ll never know what you might find. Recently I came across a photograph of Mr. Hugh Guthrie created by the Guelph Mercury during the course of their journalistic activities. I could not help, but think of the records the library acquired a couple of years ago related to his life and activities. Included were a collection of Guelph bylaws, progressive conservative files, and various other publications such as reference and informational materials aimed at conservative party workers and candidates. Much of the collection consistes of textual documents and very few photographs. I suppose that’s why I immediately became so interested in the Mercury image.

Born in Toronto Guthrie completed much of his early education in Guelph. He earned a degree from the University of Toronto and from Osgoode Law School. He practiced law in Guelph, served on various boards and was a committed Tory. The above photograph shows Hugh Guthrie with members of the Wellington (South) Progressive Conservative Association at their annual meeting. Pictured are Ernest Moores, Ed Thompson, William Hamilton, Hugh Guthrie, and D.G.M. Coxe.

To learn more about the Hugh Guthrie fonds visit this link
http://www.library.guelph.on.ca/archives/review_single_rec.cfm?key=300&tbname=fonds&refcode=F67

About gpldarcy

Hello! I’m the Archivist / Librarian at the Guelph Public Library. I am a graduate of Acadia, Dalhousie University, and Conestoga College. In my spare time I write poetry, watch historical documentaries, study information management and help work on my parent’s farm in rural Nova Scotia. I am also considered the family’s historian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment